21 Day Fix Extreme – Kick Off

I am so excited to spend the next 21 days dialing in my nutrition, and kicking my butt with Autumn Calabrese’s workouts. I wanted to do a kick-off post with a quick review of my thoughts on the program so far and my goals for these 21 days.

apr2015 blog22

21 Day Fix Extreme is a new program from Autumn and Beachbody. It is an update to the hugely popular 21 Day Fix; the programs are very similar in that they include the portion control containers and eating plan, as well as daily 30 minute exercises for 21 days. Where the programs differ is the obvious, 21 Day Fix Extreme is more ‘Extreme’: the food plan doesn’t allow for treats, and is a lot more dialed in, and the exercises are tougher and most of them use weights.

I haven’t done the regular 21 Day Fix and to be honest I was a little bit skeptical at first. But man, oh man, the results just kept pouring in, friends that I have had success with the program and I really wanted to try it. I debated for a while about whether I should try the regular or the extreme but I decided on the extreme for a few reasons. I want to challenge myself, I know that I probably will struggle through the workouts at first and the nutrition is also going to be a huge challenge. But I really think that a challenge is what I need right now.

I spent this weekend trying out different recipes, playing around with the food plan and charts and looking at the workouts. Plyo Fix Extreme kicked my butt and left me a sweaty mess, but I found Autumn to be motivating and I had no troubles following the moderator for most of the 30 minutes. My legs felt like jelly for the next few hours, and the next morning I was sore. It felt great to complete such a great workout in 30 minutes.

This is my breakfast in the portion containers: steel cut oats with a little bit of almond butter in the yellow container (the almond butter counts as a teaspoon) and the strawberries in the purple container.

This is my breakfast in the portion containers: steel cut oats with a little bit of almond butter in the yellow container (the almond butter counts as a teaspoon) and the strawberries in the purple container.

apr2015 blog16

These delicious chicken fajitas were also fix approved.

These delicious chicken fajitas were also fix approved.

Of course, Shakeology is a given. I've tried to not use it and to try other products but I keep coming back to it because it really does work for me.

Of course, Shakeology is a given. I’ve tried to not use it and to try other products but I keep coming back to it because it really does work for me.

Now for the final piece: my before pictures. It is so important to take before pictures, they will really help motivate you and will make the success that you see that much better. However I haven’t shared my before pictures publicly yet and I struggled with posting this. I decided to share these with you today to show you that I am not where I want to be, I am real, my struggles are real and my successes will be real as well. Posting these now will help hold me accountable and will make posting my After pictures so much more exciting. Here it goes.

apr2015 blog23 apr2015 blog26 apr2015 blog24 apr2015 blog25

And yes, my cats were very upset that I closed the door to take these photos.

If you are interested in joining me on this journey let me know! Leave a comment with your info below, or Contact Me!

Love, Health and Happiness!

