Vegan and Grain Free Chocolate Macaroon Tart

I was looking through my pictures today and realized that I never got around to posting this amazing recipe and the even better time I had making this with my brothers. My brother Ryan prefers to eat gluten free and vegan foods so whenever I get the chance to hang out with him I try to make delicious things that we can all enjoy.

apr2015 blog14

Disclaimer: this is not my original recipe, I found this on Angela Liddon’s blog Oh She Glows If you are looking for amazing vegan recipes definitely check out her site (She also has a cook book).

This was by far one of the best chocolate tarts I’ve ever had, I am here to testify that you could not tell it was vegan or gluten free.

The Ingredients: 1 1/4 cups packed pitted Medjool dates 1 1/4 cups unsweetened shredded coconut 2 1/2 tablespoons ground flax seed 2 1/2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder 1 tablespoon coconut oil 1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt, or to taste 1 teaspoon water 3 (70%) good-quality dark chocolate bars  1 can full-fat coconut milk,  4 tablespoons pure maple syrup  1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract pinch sea salt

The Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups packed pitted Medjool dates
1 1/4 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
2 1/2 tablespoons ground flax seed
2 1/2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt, or to taste
1 teaspoon water
3 (70%) good-quality dark chocolate bars
1 can full-fat coconut milk,
4 tablespoons pure maple syrup
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
pinch sea salt

First we processed the dates in a food processor.

First we processed the dates in a food processor.

Then we aded the rest of the crust ingredients and processed them well

Then we aded the rest of the crust ingredients and processed them well

We pressed the crust into the pie pan..

We pressed the crust into the pie pan..

The finished crust (with my brother Ryan)

The finished crust (with my brother Ryan)

Onto the filling: we melted the chocolate..

Onto the filling: we melted the chocolate..

we added in the coconut milk and the rest of the filling ingredients.

we added in the coconut milk and the rest of the filling ingredients.

whisking this thing to get it perfect was no joke: Ryan and I took turns

whisking this thing to get it perfect was no joke: Ryan and I took turns

finally we filled the pie with the filling

finally we filled the crust with the filling

Angela does a great job at making whipped cream out of coconut cream on her blog. My attempt didn't turn out as well so I just added a little bit to create the design

Angela does a great job at making whipped cream out of coconut cream on her blog. My attempt didn’t turn out as well so I just added a little bit to create the design

The final product. It has to be kept in the freezer and then we would thaw it out just a little bit before eating it.

The final product. It has to be kept in the freezer and then we would thaw it out just a little bit before eating it.

This tart is absolutely delicious, but even greater than the fact that this is a much healthier version to the typical chocolate tarts, was the blast that we had making it. My brother Ryan helped me with making the tart and my brother Martin was the photographer and it was a really great way to spend time with family.

What’s a dish that brings your family together?

