Cold Brew Coffee

If you are a coffee addict like myself, this post is for you. With summer around the corner and the temperature finally starting to heat up I am getting excited for iced everything: iced tea, iced coffee, iced lattes etc. and I have found one of the easiest way to have delicious iced coffee waiting for you in the morning. Cold Brew Coffee.

IMG_0924

If you are a Starbucks fan then you probably have seen that they are offering Cold Brew Coffee now, and while I haven’t actually tried Starbucks cold brew to compare, anything that saves on time, gas and money (especially on a weekday morning) is a win for me.

I’ve actually been making cold brew coffee for a little less than a year now. I first found it when I was looking for a better way to incorporate coffee into my Shakeology shakes. I don’t like to blend too much ice into my protein shakes, and brewing coffee, putting it on ice and waiting for it to cool down before I mixed my shake was not very efficient. I searched Pinterest for an answer and found it in cold brew coffee.

Cold Brew Coffee is really simple, and it is exactly as it’s name suggests, it’s coffee that is brewed at room temperature (or the fridge) over a longer period of time. Starbucks brews theirs at room temperature for 20 hours, but I just let mine sit overnight in the fridge.

I use a small french-press to make it, but you can brew it in any container (mason jar,etc.). You just combine your coffee (coarse ground is best) with cold water and let it sit overnight, in the morning you just press down the french press plunger and viola. If you aren’t using a french press you will need to strain the coffee, you an use a coffee filter inside of a fine mesh strainer.

I find cold brew coffee to be smoother and a little stronger than traditional iced coffee. Which is perfect to relax before work or to use in a morning super-food/protein shake.

Are you coffee a drinker? If so, let me know your favorite way to drink coffee in the comments below!

Happy Brewing!

IMG_0899

My cats just love being a part of my blogging activities, how cute is this picture?

