A Note On Love and the Importance of Loving Yourself First

I spend entirely too much time browsing the black hole that is Pinterest, but somewhere along my perusing I came across a quote from the book The Perks of Being a Wallflower, now I’ve never read the book or watched the movie, but this quote stood out to me so much, and I wanted to share it with you.

We accept the love we think we deserve.

I reflected a lot on this quote and just how true it is. I’m a confident person, but I tend to be  hard on myself, and when I put myself down and feel bad about myself, I push away the love that others try to give, the love and support that could make me feel better. When we finally believe in how amazing each one of us truly is, we beam with confidence and radiate positivity and we accept the love from others around us. It’s such a beautiful thing, but it all needs to start with you. You need to believe that you are worth it, until you do, you won’t be able to see how much people truly love you.

I am so blessed to be surrounded by amazing people that have so much love to give, and I try so hard to give back as much of that love as I can. But I learned today that it is just as important to take the time to appreciate everything that makes you amazing and to love yourself!

We accept the love..

 

Let me know in the comments below what you love most about yourself!

