Coffee Love – Moka Pot

I have a love affair with Coffee. I know it’s not great for me, but I don’t care. A few years ago I got an espresso machine for Christmas, that has been one of the most used Christmas gifts I have ever received. It got me through internships, late nights and finals. And I still LOVE it. But sometimes I want something not quiet as strong as espresso, but stronger than typical drip coffee (I do not own a standard coffee maker). I am also not a huge fan of the Keurig machines, sure its super easy, but again I like my coffee strong. I’ve experimented with a French Press, and again I was disappointed. Then last week a magical thing happened, I found a simple Moka Pot (stovetop coffee maker) at the Home Goods store for $8.

I have so many fond memories of the Moka Pot, my grandma uses one to make coffee all the time, and I grew up with it, but for some reason I didn’t think to buy one.

I’ve been using it all week and I am in love, the coffee is stronger than typical coffee, but drinkable and not as strong as espresso.

First you fill the bottom with hot water.

First you fill the bottom with hot water.

Next you full the funnel with coffee

Next you fill the funnel with coffee

IMG_5044

Screw the top on and place on the stove. Wait until the coffee is brewed

Screw the top on and place on the stove. Wait until the coffee is brewed

Pour and enjoy!

Pour and enjoy!

IMG_5072

 

How do you like your coffee? If you don’t drink coffee, what is your daily pick-me up?

Love,  Zsanika

