Vegan for a week Challenge

I am so excited to share with you that I have decided to challenge myself to eat only Vegan food for the next week.

I’ve followed a vegan and a raw vegan (for a brief time) diet before, and I always found that I had so much more energy and I felt SO much better when I was vegan. I have nothing against eating meat, and I have never chosen the vegetarian or the vegan path for ethical reasons (although I do agree that the farming industry as a whole isn’t always ideal), instead I find that eating vegan forces me to eat minimally processed plant based foods. If I just try to eat healthy I find myself eating ‘low-fat’ and ‘fat-free’ processed food. But processed vegan food is much harder to find, therefore I am forcing myself to choose unprocessed (or minimally processed) foods.

I spent most of the morning online looking up recipes and blogs my favorite so far is Angela’s blog Oh She Glows she has SO MANY delicious and quick recipes. I then stocked up my fridge and pantry. And I am ready to go. I made her mushroom tomato pasta and thankfully had plenty left over for lunch at work tomorrow. I also made the apple jam and overnight oats so I will be enjoying this beauty for breakfast (and snack) tomorrow.

You may have noticed that in my previous blog post I talked about my journey to happiness, but one thing that I think is a huge part of happiness and balance is health, and that is something that I have never been good at. My weight has always yo-yo’d and I was either obsessing over loosing weight, or gaining, there has never really been a healthy middle ground. Sharing this with you scares me a little bit, I’m not comfortable sharing my vulnerability with something that I’ve struggled with and have not found a solution to. But I’m hoping that they week-long challenge to eat plant-based vegan diet will be just the kickstart I need to a healthy new begining.

How do you stay healthy and balanced? Are you up for the vegan challenge yourself?

Love, Zsanika

 

