Tropical Blue and Coral Makeup Look

My main focus has been on fall recently. I’ve been researching all different kids of vampy plum lip colors, and I even tried a latex black nail color in honor of Halloween. But yesterday afternoon I found myself looking at pictures of Hawaii and private islands in the Virgin Islands (if you haven’t heard of Sir Richard Branson’s Necker Island you need to google it – NOW!) so when going out last night I opted for a fun tropical inspired make up look instead of the plums and berry colors that I have been gravitating towards.

This was my look last night, and I LOVED it so much that  I decided to recreate it for you today.

This was my look last night, and I LOVED it so much that I decided to recreate it for you today.

do your typical foundation/concealer technique

do your typical foundation/concealer technique

Before setting with powder, I used my new Tarte Maracuja Cheek Tint.

Before setting with powder, I used my new Tarte Maracuja Cheek Tint.

IMG_4746

After dotting it on your cheek you want to use a stippling brush to distribute it evenly - make sure you move fast

After dotting it on your cheek you want to use a stippling brush to distribute it evenly – make sure you move fast

Set with powder *

Set with powder *

Tightline our eyes - this helps make your eyelashes appear fuller.

Tightline our eyes – this helps make your eyelashes appear fuller.

I applied the color scratch all over and used the color Peace in the next step.

I applied the color scratch all over and used the color Peace in the next step.

Using a thin liner brush I applied the electric blue color along my lash line.

Using a thin liner brush I applied the electric blue color along my lash line.

IMG_4775

I then used my trusty eyelash curler and mascara

I then used my trusty eyelash curler and mascara

For my lips I decided to use the #7 Coral color from YSL Glossystain. The sample I got from Sephora was so generous. It came with three colors and in one color there was plenty for last night and today.

For my lips I decided to use the #7 Coral color from YSL Glossystain. The sample I got from Sephora was so generous. It came with three colors and in one color there was plenty for last night and today.

This is a product that you want to layer on and let dry a little between each application

This is a product that you want to layer on and let dry a little between each application

IMG_4786

The final look.

The final look.

In natural light.

In natural light.

The electric blue on the eyes reminds me of the bright colors that you find in nature and everywhere in the tropics, but by using a single line, instead of applying all over I find that it’s still a wearable color. The coral lip color warms up the look without distracting from the eyes.

*I tried a DIY translucent powder in this look and I didn’t like it very much – please excuse how blotchy my makeup looks after applying it (I need to perfect my formula)

Does this look remind you of the tropics? What colors remind you of a warm tropical place?

Love, Zsanika

