DIY Lip Scrub

My first experience with a lip scrub wasn’t until early college, when really I should’ve been using it since middle school. EVERYONE needs a good lip exfoliation every once in a while, it takes off the rough chapped skin and leaves behind a soft an smooth lip. Exfoliating is especially key when going for bolder lip colors (there is nothing worse than an perfectly done lip ruined by chapped lips). Now I’ve tried commercial products, and they work well, but my all time favorite lip scrub is a super quick homemade one. I like to use three ingredients, but really even two is enough.

The ingredients: Sugar, a carrier oil (I’ve used everything from Olive Oil to the grapeseed one that I used today), and peppermint essential oil (optional). You mix some sugar with the oil and add in a drop or two of peppermint.

The sugar exfoliates, while the oil moisturizes your lips. The peppermint oil is optional, but I find that it helps plump the lips and gives a nice tingle (think Burt's Bees or Buxom Lip glosses)

The sugar exfoliates, while the oil moisturizes your lips. The peppermint oil is optional, but I find that it helps plump the lips and gives a nice tingle (think Burt’s Bees or Buxom Lip glosses)

Start with clean lips.

Start with clean lips.

Massage the mixture onto your lips.

Massage the mixture onto your lips.

wipe off and viola!

wipe off and viola!

While the oil provides great moisture, I like to follow up with a colored lip butter (this is Korres Pomegranate)

While the oil provides great moisture, I like to follow up with a colored lip butter (this is Korres Pomegranate)

IMG_4737And there you have it, my super cheap and more effective (in my experience anyway) alternative to the store bought lip scrubs.

 

What DIY products do you use in your beauty ritual?

Love, Zsanika

 

