An Exploration of My Happiness

This photo was captured RIGHT after J. proposed to me, in front of the princess castle in Disneyland

This photo was captured RIGHT after J. proposed to me, in front of the princess castle in Disneyland

I had very high hopes for my life after graduating college: I had worked my butt off doing internships while carrying a full school load so I can set myself apart, I was finally going to be living with my fiancé (we had done the long distance thing for sooo long), in short I was going to be successful, I was going to kick-ass, and I was going to be happy.

I spent an amazing summer traveling and visiting family, and then I moved to Buffalo, NY and started to job hunt. Everyone was surprised at how fast I found a job, and it was a super cool job too. I loved living with my fiancé, we got our own apartment (with a fireplace!) and we adopted two kittens. In writing everything was as I thought it should be, but one thing was missing, I was not happy.

I knew why I wasn’t happy, and I learned a lot about how I need to define myself in my career, and I also learned from my mistakes. But at that time I had felt like my world was closing in on me, I was anxious about work all of the time, and I found it hard to let go of the workday and relax. And as I tend to do, I let it snowball. Not only was I not happy at work (really it was more of I wasn’t happy about/with work, because I really enjoyed my job and the people I worked with) but I let myself go, I stopped taking pictures and seeking out the creative projects that I need to do to keep myself happy and sane, and I started being mopey.

My solution to this was to find another job. This is not the right course of action in most situations, really, I’m not sure if there is such thing as ‘the right thing’, but running away from your source of unhappiness is not a great solution. I would suggest digging deep and changing what is wrong – but I digress. I am now in a great place. I work with great people (again, that never was a problem) and I really, really, love what I do. I don’t have a lot of responsibilities, and I don’t have a lot of projects, instead I just recruit. I source resumes, I call people, I meet with people and I help those people (okay, so maybe I don’t help every person I talk to or meet, but I try). I am now way more vocal to my colleagues and to my manager about everything: how I feel, what I need help with and what I feel like I am doing well in.

In addition to the change of atmosphere and pace in my work-life, I have also learned how to unplug, how to get creative and how to really gain pleasure from the things that I see and do. I still have many more lessons to learn, and things that I need to work on, but I am finally happy with everything.

I found this article not long ago, and I wanted to share it along with this story. I really enjoyed reading about what truly happy people do, and I am proud to report that I try to do most of the points. I found it to be so true that pleasure doesn’t cause happiness, but finding meaning and engagement do. I highly reccommend reading this article and trying to be even happier, and bettering yourself.

The photo above and the ones below are just a few things people and things that remind me of happiness:

My grandma being silly

My grandma being silly

A true smile from my beautiful sister

A true smile from my beautiful sister

Majestic Peace - Double Rainbow - Zsanett Czvikli

Enjoying a sunrise in Galveston.

Enjoying a sunrise in Galveston.

IMG_9151 IMG_3250 IMG_3682 IMG_0290

On the left is Fiona, and on the right is Kit Kat

On the left is Fiona, and on the right is Kit Kat

Are you happy with your life right now? What’s the biggest lesson that you’ve learned in your pursuit to happiness?

Love and Happiness, Zsanika

